Ogden’s 2018 Top Dogs

Once again we have an outstanding group of Top Dogs to induct into our Hall of Fame! Four inductees join the already established elite group of Ogden alumni and former staff who have achieved great things. The Top Dogs Hall of Fame began in 2016 with the inaugural induction of Gaile Carlson, Lillian Kruse, Bob Morgan, Gary Paulsen, Jesse Sundell, and Larry Tryon. The following year, even more nominations came in for the committee to sort through. In 2017, Gary Alban, Stan Friesen, Annika Gustafson Parker, and the 1992 State Runner-up Football Team were inducted. Plaques were constructed by OHS manufacturing students and hung in the Hall of Fame at OHS.

This year our honored Top Dogs are Mike Banks, Dr. Ben Paulson, Claudia Paulson Shepherd, and the 2000 State Champion Shuttle Hurdle Team, comprised of Annie Blyth Wearmouth, Lindsay Clark Tucker, Kristin Peterson Wilson, and Karen Swanson Olson. These inductees will be celebrated during Homecoming on September 28, 2018. They will ride in the Homecoming Parade. During the Pep Assembly in the OHS gym, each will be announced, honored, and receive an award. This prestigious ceremony will be presented by students in the Iowa: Then and Now class. The inductees are invited to share a few words if they choose.

Following the induction ceremony and assembly, there will be a dessert social from 3:30-4:30 in the high school library, where the Top Dogs will socialize and greet visitors. This is a great opportunity to hear the stories and accomplishments of this year’s Top Dogs. Dessert will be prepared and served by the Hospitality and Tourism Management students. Please join us for this social hour, before the Homecoming BBQ.

Prior to kickoff of the football game, the 2018 Top Dogs Inductees will be announced and escorted in front of the crowd. This is another opportunity to applaud them for all of their accomplishments. The remarkable feats of these 2018 Top Dogs are certainly worth celebrating! So please join us during Homecoming to honor these inductees!

After the 2018 Top Dogs are inducted, the nomination process will open for the 2019 Top Dogs. Please visit the website at www.ogdenschools.org, and click on Top Dogs. There you will find the criteria and nomination form. Submit your nominations soon, and our committee will select the inductees from your nominations. Nominations will no longer be accepted after April 1, 2019, so start thinking of who should join this elite group of Ogden’s Top Dogs!


Friday, September 28, 2018

1:00 - Homecoming Parade down Walnut St.

1:45 - Pep Assembly and Induction Ceremony in the OHS gym

3:30 - Top Dogs Dessert Social in the OHS library

4:30 - Homecoming BBQ in OHS cafeteria

7:00 - Ogden Bulldogs Football vs. Pocahontas Area

Mike Banks

written by Kyle Free

Mike Banks moved to Ogden his freshman year of high school. He found he had an interest in football and put in extra effort to improve his game. By senior year, Mike led the Bulldogs to finish with a record of 7-3. After he graduated in 1998, Mike was invited to play in the Shrine Bowl. He was the first Ogden athlete to receive a Division I scholarship. He played for Iowa State from 1998 to 2001, went to three bowl games, and proudly never lost to the University of Iowa. Mike was drafted into the National Football League in the 7th round by the Arizona Cardinals in 2002. He played for two years with Arizona and one year with the New Orleans Saints. Mike left the NFL and moved back to Iowa with his wife and family. His accomplishment of reaching the NFL is proof that with hard work, anybody can live out their dream.

Dr. Ben Paulson

written by Keegan Tews


Ben Paulson had always dreamed of grand things. During his years at OHS, he participated in a variety of activities to find his passion. He ran cross-country and track, but also placed first in Physics Olympics. He graduated from Ogden in 1996. Ben pursued a degree in physics at Washington University in St. Louis. He then went to the University of Duke and earned his medical degree in 2004. He had a five year residency/internship at the University of Texas in Houston, where he studied general surgery. Dr. Paulson moved back to Des Moines where he lives currently with his wife, Christa, and two daughters. He works at Iowa Ortho as an orthopedic surgeon, and specializes in the hand and upper extremities. Dr. Ben Paulson is described as hard working, creative, and an excellent example of what it means to be a Top Dog.

Claudia Paulson Shepherd

written by Sam Arnold

Claudia Paulson attended Ogden from 1966-1970. She participated in softball and track, but where Claudia really shined was six-on-six basketball. She earned her place in the Ogden record books as the all-time leading scorer - 2,708 points, highest points in one game - 64, all-time best percentage shooter in one season - 62%, and all-time high career average - 31.63 points per game. She also earned All-State, All-Regional, and All-District honors. Ogden High School even retired her jersey #34 after she graduated. Claudia continued to play basketball at Wayne State College in Nebraska. After college, she married Everett Shepherd in 1973, and had two children, Sara and Greg. They moved to Stuart, Iowa where Claudia taught and coached. Sadly, Claudia passed away in 1999 of a brain tumor, at the young age of 47. In Ogden, we remember Claudia as the best basketball player our town has seen, and we attribute that to her hard work and determination.  


2000 State Champion Shuttle Hurdle Team

written by Holly Melchert


The 2000 State Champion Shuttle Hurdle Team, comprised of Karen Swanson, Lindsay Clark, Kristin Peterson, and Annie Blyth, raced their way into Ogden history. They are the only relay team to have won a state title for Ogden Girls’ Track, winning the 1A Shuttle Hurdle race in a time of 1:04.61. The girls’ coach, Kara Kruse, described them as “self-disciplined, hard working, and very goal-oriented. The girls were continually working toward improving their time.  They spent countless hours working on techniques, drills, and endurance to become their best!” Despite only having a cinder track in Ogden, these girls went above and beyond to prepare for the highest level of competition. Hoping to place in the top eight at the state level, they surpassed their goal. They set the school record with their championship run, and that record still stands today. All four ladies have looked back on that moment in May of 2000 as a highlight of their high school careers.